About Endurance Swims

Clements Windows and Doors Endurance Series

The Clements Windows and Doors Endurance Series of four longer swims will provide an extra challenge, particularly for those swimmers targeting the State Ocean Swim series, held nationally (for details of the State Series, click here)

Entries now open for the series or for individual races:

Race 1 – 9.45am, Sunday December 3, 2017, Clements Opening Splash, 2km
Opening Splash is a reversal of the Eyebright Mile. Start at Tahunanui Beach and finish at the yacht club ramp. Short option, start at Richardson St Steps, swim to yacht club, 600m (must sign on at Tahunanui Beach by 9.30am). High tide 10.15am.

Race 2 – 9am Sunday December 31, 2017, Clements Eyebright mile, 2km
The traditional race from the Nelson Yacht Club ramp to Tahunanui. Short option (1300m) from Richardson St steps starting at 9.30am. All must register first at the yacht club by 8.45am. High tide 9.03am.

Race 3 – 8.30am, Sunday January 14, 2018, Clements Ironman Challenge, 3.8km 
Swimmers head north from Tahunanui Beach, starting at 8.30am and will reach the dolphin navigation marker at about high tide (9.05am), turning south to follow the toe of Haulashore Island around to the second navigation marker to the south of the island, then back to the beach. Competitors in the short swim of 1300m will walk to the Richardson St steps, swimming straight back to Tahunanui Beach, starting 30 minutes after the 3.8km race. All competitors must register at Tahunanui Beach by 8.15am.

Race 4 – 11am, Sunday March 18, 2018, Clements Haulashore Circuit
Haulashore Circuit, race starts at 11am. (High tide, 11.26am) Registration at the yacht club 10.15am-10.45am.
Here’s the course:  From the yacht club, head straight to the dolphin, turn right and go out through the cut, then left and around the south end of the island. back up to the dolphin, then in to the ramp – just a touch over 2.8km. There will be a short option, to the dolphin and return, a distance of 800m.

The Big Tahuna, Saturday March 31

The South Island leg of the national series comes to Nelson for the first time. For details, click here